Who's Your Community Hero?


Every day, people and organisations from right across our community are helping others in all kinds of ways, and the Honour Awards is about acknowledging all kinds of community service, whether big or small.

Honour your LGBTI community heroes by nominating them in one of the following eight (8) categories:

  • Business
  • Media
  • Arts and Entertainment
  • Visual Arts (Cayte Latta Memorial Award) 
  • Health and Wellbeing
  • Community Organisation
  • Young Achiever
  • Community Hero

A panel of judges selects four (4) finalists in each category with the winner announced on the night of the awards.

Winners receive a range of gifts, and all 32 finalists – as well as the first person who nominates them – receive a free ticket to the gala event.

We look forward to receiving your nominations and hope to see you on the night.



All awards recognise the work of a person or organisation that has provided leadership or achieved outstanding success within the LGBTI community OR has provided excellent service or made a significant contribution to the LGBTI community.

Award (Presented by Sydney Gay and Lesbian Business Association)

  • Eligible Entity: Person or commercial/for profit organisation 
  • Eligible Fields: Business, finance, commerce and/or industry. 


  • Eligible Entity: Person or organisation
  • Eligible Fields: Print, broadcast, online and/or social media.
  • Eligible Period: 1 Sep 2016 - 16 Aug 2017
  • This is a national award. People and organisations from across Australia are invited to submit nominations.

Arts and Entertainment Award

  • Eligible Entity: Person or organisation
  • Eligible Fields: Creative industries, popular culture and/or entertainment.

Visual Arts Award
(Cayte Latta Memorial Award)

This award, with a cash prize of $1000, recognises outstanding achievement in the field of visual art that expresses, interprets or explores issues or themes affecting the LGBTI community. The award is a national award and is open to all residents of Australia.

  • Eligible Entity: Person
  • Eligible Fields: Photography, painting, drawing, video, filmmaking, printmaking and graphic design.

Artists can submit entries of previous work or work specifically created for the Award. Any images should be uploaded at time of submission or a link should be provided under the Supporting Statement section of the online Nomination Form. A body of work can be submitted but artists should nominate one particular work that can be considered independently.

Health and Wellbeing Award (Presented by GLYDE Health)

  • Eligible Entity: Person or organisation
  • Eligible Fields: Medicine, healthcare, spirituality, sport, education, research and/or advocacy. 

Community Organisation
Award (Presented by Aurora)

  • Eligible Entity: Community/not for profit organisation
  • Eligible Fields: Any

Young Achiever Award
(Presented by Sydney Gay and Lesbian Mardi Gras)

  • Eligible Entity: Person aged 30 years or under
  • Eligible Fields: Any

Community Hero Award
(Presented by ACON)

  • Eligible Entity: Person
  • Eligible Fields: Any



  1. Nominations are FREE.
  2. You can nominate yourself or the organisation you work for or a person or organisation you admire.
  3. Persons and organisations can be nominated in multiple categories. Eligibility is dependent on the award category and may be open to businesses, groups, organisations and/or individuals.
  4. Nominees must be an Australian citizen OR have resident status and be living in Australia OR be an organisation or association that is registered in Australia.
  5. Nominees cannot be:
    • an employee of ACON or Aurora
    • an employee of a direct supplier of commercial products or services to ACON or Aurora
    • a member of the 2017 Honour Awards judging panel
    • an employee of a member of the 2017 Honour Awards judging panel
    • an employee of a presenting partner/sponsor of the 2017 Honour Awards
  6. Nominations for all awards must be received by 5pm Wednesday 16 August 2017.
  7. All submitted nominations and supporting material remain the property of ACON and will not be returned.
  8. The judging panel will select four (4) finalists and one (1) winner for each category.
  9. The judge’s decision is final and no further correspondence will be entered into.
  10. Nominees must agree to any local, state or national marketing and media publicity associated with the 2017 Honour Awards.
  11. All finalists will be announced on Monday, 28 August 2017.
  12. Finalists are required, where possible, to attend the awards presentation ceremony and will each be given one complimentary ticket to the event.
  13. The winner of each category will be announced at the 2017 Honour Awards ceremony and cocktail party in Sydney on Wednesday 27 September 2017.
  14. The winner of each category will receive a stylish trophy and an exquisite floral bouquet.